Bocuse, quite simply…

Paul Bocuse<br />
 

Paul Bocuse, a name known around the world. After 50 years of Michelin-star recognition, this hero of French gastronomy has built an empire based on regional cuisine, drawing his inspiration from simplicity and generosity.

When Monsieur Paul arrives in the dining room to greet his guests, sporting his Chef's hat and a spotless jacket bearing the colours of France, time appears to stand still, silence falls. Everyone turns to admire this imposing and charismatic figure. A sacred moment.

People come to the Paul Bocuse restaurant to savour the dishes but also to experience this exceptional encounter with the Pope of gastronomy and the Chef of the century.  

bocuse at the restaurant

A man close to nature

Collonges and Bocuse, a village and a man that are inseparable. With his feet in the Saône and his head in the stars, Monsieur Paul, as he is called by his staff, the son and grandson of a long line of Chefs since the 17th century, has collected many honours during his career.

At a very young age, Paul was introduced to the world of cooking among the stoves of the Auberge du Pont de Collonges, a family establishment managed by his parents Georges and Irma. Of his country childhood, Paul Bocuse, whose name means "man close to the wooded countryside", maintains close ties with nature after being introduced at a very young age to the art of poaching, hunting and fishing. 

 "Cooking is my life.
I know sauces better than my geography."

An ambassador of French cuisine

1944.
Called up to fight, Bocuse found himself in battle, surrounded by death and destruction.

 A painful experience which, at the age of 20, inspired in him a taste for conquest and risk. The Bocuse legend was underway... From his apprenticeship with Eugénie Brazier and Fernand Point, his pygmalion, he learned precision and control.

After that, thanks to his inborn sense of observation and temperament, not without a certain humour, Bocuse, now boasting three stars, continued his route as an ambassador of French cuisine, the creator of the Bocuse d'Or and a talent scout. Bocuse embraces life: he loves the world, he loves women and he loves taste. In short, quite simply Bocuse! 

The quest for Excellence

"Work as if you are going to live until you're 100 and live as if you're going to die tomorrow."

Passion is no doubt the secret behind Paul Bocuse's success. Everyone at the Auberge or the Abbaye de Collonges shares this constant concern for the very highest quality, whether in terms of the choice of products, the right gestures in the dining room, the appropriate attitude at the right time with regard to customers as well as colleagues. This is the sign of excellence which has made its mark on the history of the establishment and which should last for many years to come.

Transmission

"We are manual workers. Our profession has to be learned. It involves mentoring and it is our duty to pass on our knowledge."

Paul Bocuse's work is marked by his desire for transmission. The Chef has always promoted easy communication in order to share the experiences and skills which have helped the establishment to grow and develop.

Today, each member of the team is an ambassador of these practical and interpersonal skills and it is their duty to perpetuate this unique signature.

Celebration

"Receiving people means taking charge of their happiness."

Paul Bocuse's history is filled with tales that reflect the deep sense of friendship the Chef has with those around him.

The joy of giving pleasure, of serving in the noblest sense of the word, namely of being useful to others, is a motivation which, at every moment, allows each customer to relish rare sensations and sincere and unforgettable emotions.

The Chef of the century 

2016

Opening of the Comptoir de l’Est in the 6tharrondissement of Lyon.

2015

Grand Officer of the National Order of Merit
50th anniversary of 3 Michelin stars.

2013

Opening of the Marguerite restaurant in the 8< sup>tharrondissement of Lyon.

2011

Opening of the DOCK OUEST hotel residence in the 9< sup>th
arrondissement of Lyon Title of "Chef of the Century by the Culinary Institute of America in New York (USA)

2007

Opening of eight brasseries and restaurants in Japan in partnership with the HIRAMATSU group.

2008

Opening of Ouest Express, fast-food restaurant concept in Lyon

2004

Creation of the Paul Bocuse Foundation. He was named the Commander of the Legion of Honour.

2003

Opening of the Brasserie l’Ouest in Lyon

2000

Commander of the National Order of Merit in New York

1997

Opening of the Brasserie l’Est in Lyon

1996

One of the official Chefs of the International G7 Summit in Lyon bringing together the seven most industrialised countries.

1995

Opening of the Brasserie Le Sud in Lyon

1994

Chicago – College of Diplomates Salute to Excellence Awards - Opening of the Brasserie Le Nord in Lyon

1993

Officer of the French Order of Merit

1991

Entry into the Grévin Museum

1990

Opening of the Institut Paul Bocuse

1989

Honorary President of the Ecole des Arts Culinaires et de l’Hôtellerie d’Ecully, now known as the Institut Paul BOCUSE - President Euro Toques – 3,000 Chefs in Europe - President Best Craftsman of France Cuisine-Restaurant Section

1987

Creation of the Bocuse d’Or in Lyon, of which he became the President in 1989. That same year, he was named Chef of the Century by Gault & Millau.

1975

Nomination for the Knight of the Legion of Honour by Valéry Giscard d’Estaing at the Elysée Palace. For the occasion, he created the V.G.E. soup.

1965

Third Michelin star

1962

Second Michelin star

1961

Title of Best Craftsman of France

1958

First Michelin star

1956

Arrival of Paul Bocuse in the family business, the Hôtel du Pont de Collonges.

Bocuse, tout simplement….

Paul Bocuse<br />
 

Paul Bocuse, un nom qui rayonne aux quatre coins de la planète. En près de 50 ans sous les étoiles, ce héros de la gastronomie française a construit un empire autour d’une cuisine de terroir, puisant ses racines dans la simplicité et la générosité.

Lorsque Monsieur Paul arrive en salle pour saluer ses invités, toque haute, veste immaculée bleu blanc rouge, le temps s’arrête, plus un murmure. Tous contemplent avec admiration cette stature imposante et charismatique. L’instant est sacré.

On vient au restaurant Paul Bocuse à la fois pour savourer les plats mais aussi pour saisir ce moment précieux de la rencontre avec le pape de la gastronomie et le cuisinier du siècle.  

bocuse au restaurant

Un homme proche de la nature

Collonges et Bocuse, un village et un homme  viscéralement liés. Les pieds dans la Saône et la tête dans les étoiles, Monsieur Paul comme le surnomment ses lieutenants a accumulé au fil de son parcours bien des honneurs, fils, petit-fils d’une longue lignée de cuisiniers depuis le XVII ème siècle.

Dès l’enfance, le petit Paul est tombé dans le chaudron de la cuisine, à l’abri des fourneaux de l’Auberge du Pont de Collonges, l’établissement familial sur lequel règnent ses parents Georges et Irma. De sa jeunesse à la campagne, Paul Bocuse dont le nom signifie « l’homme près du bocage » conserve une étroite proximité avec la nature, initié très tôt à l’art du braconnage, de la chasse et de la pêche. 

 « Cuisiner, c’est ma vie.
Je connais mieux les sauces que ma géographie ».

Un ambassadeur de la cuisine française

1944.
Mobilisé, le soldat Bocuse connaît alors l’épreuve du feu, côtoyant la mort.

 Une expérience douloureuse qui lui insuffle le goût des conquêtes et du risque à l’âge de 20 ans. La légende Bocuse se met dès lors en marche… De ses apprentissages chez Eugénie Brazier et Fernand Point, son pygmalion, il apprend la rigueur et la maîtrise des gestes.

Dès lors, avec son sens inné de l’observation et son tempérament non dénué d’humour, Bocuse couronné de ses trois étoiles poursuit sa route, ambassadeur de la cuisine française, créateur du Bocuse d’Or, dénicheur de talents. Bocuse croque la vie : amoureux du monde, amoureux des femmes, amoureux du goût…. Bocuse, tout simplement ! 

La quête de l'Excellence

« Travailler comme si on allait mourir à 100 ans et vivre comme si on devait mourir demain ».

La passion est assurément le moteur qui a permis à Paul Bocuse de connaître son succès. Chacun, au sein de l’Auberge ou de l’Abbaye de Collonges partage ce souci permanent de la plus haute qualité, que cela soit pour le choix d’un produit, le juste geste en salle, l’attitude adéquate à tout moment, envers les clients comme avec ses collègues. C’est cette signature d'excellence qui a marqué l’histoire de la maison et qui doit perdurer encore de très longues années.

La transmission

« Nous sommes des manuels. Notre métier s’apprend, c’est un métier de compagnonnage que nous avons le devoir de transmettre ».

L’oeuvre de Paul Bocuse est marquée par sa volonté de transmission. Le Chef a toujours été à l’origine d’une communication facilitée pour un partage d’expériences et de compétences qui ont permis à la maison de grandir et se développer.

Aujourd’hui, chacun, au sein de l’équipe, est ambassadeur de ce savoir-faire et de ce savoir-être et se doit de perpétuer cette signature unique.

La réjouissance

« Recevoir quelqu'un, c'est se charger de son bonheur ».

Toute l'histoire de Paul Bocuse est parsemée d'anecdotes qui traduisent le sens profond de l'amitié qu'a le Chef pour son entourage.

Cette joie de faire plaisir, de servir au sens le plus noble du verbe, c'est-à-dire être utile à l'autre, est une motivation de chaque instant qui permet de faire vivre à chaque client des sensations rares, des émotions franches et inoubliables.

Le cuisinier du siècle 

2016

Ouverture du Comptoir de l’Est à Lyon 6ème.

2015

Grand Officier dans l’Ordre National du Mérite
50ème anniversaire des *** Michelin.

2013

Ouverture du restaurant « Marguerite » à Lyon 8ème.

2011

Ouverture de la résidence hôtelière DOCK OUEST à Lyon 9ème
Titre de « Cuisinier du Siècle » par le Culinary Institute of America de New York (USA)

2007

Ouverture des 8 brasseries et restaurants au Japon, en partenariat avec le groupe HIRAMATSU.

2008

Ouverture de Ouest Express, concept de restauration rapide à Lyon

2004

Création de la Fondation Paul Bocuse. Il est sacré Commandeur de la Légion d’honneur.

2003

Ouverture de la Brasserie l’Ouest à Lyon

2000

Commandeur dans l’Ordre National du Mérite à New York

1997

Ouverture de la Brasserie l’Est à Lyon

1996

Fait partie des cuisiniers officiels du Sommet International du G7 réunissant les sept pays les plus industrialisés à Lyon.

1995

Ouverture de la Brasserie Le Sud à Lyon

1994

Chicago – College of Diplomates Salute to Excellence Awards - Ouverture de la Brasserie Le Nord à Lyon

1993

Officier du Mérite National

1991

Entrée au Musée Grévin

1990

Ouverture de l’Institut Paul Bocuse

1989

Président d’honneur de l’Ecole des Arts Culinaires et de l’Hôtellerie d’Ecully devenu aujourd’hui I’Institut Paul BOCUSE - Président Euro Toques – 3000 cuisiniers en Europe - Président Meilleur Ouvrier de France Section Cuisine-Restauration

1987

Création du Bocuse d’or à Lyon, dont il devient le président en 1989. La même année, il est nommé Cuisinier du siècle par Gault et Millau.

1975

Nomination au titre de chevalier de la Légion d’honneur par Valéry Giscard d’Estaing au palais de l’Elysée. Il crée à cette occasion la soupe VGE.

1965

Obtention de la troisième étoile

1962

Obtention de la seconde étoile

1961

Obtention du titre de Meilleur Ouvrier de France

1958

Obtention de la première étoile Michelin

1956

Arrivée de Paul Bocuse dans l’entreprise familiale, l’Hôtel du Pont de Collonges.